Notre Dame and worship

I have heard commentators reflect on the destruction of Notre Dame in respect to it being Catholic and also in light of the struggles within Catholicism. I have never been to Notre Dame, but am aware of its historic nature and also its cultural nature. I have visited the National Cathedral in Washington numerous times, St. Patrick’s in NYC and St. John the Divine in NYC. All three magnificent structures, but for me profound settings of the worship of God.

I am often cynical about the fortune spent on church buildings and artifacts. And I will continue to be. But these settings such as Notre Dame are places of deep worship and spiritual centering. They may be seen and used more often today as scenic tourist settings, but that does not deter from the role they have played in the lives of so many in reaching out and connecting with God.

Of all the sanctuaries of church’s I have served, the one that sticks with me the most is a somewhat simplistic, beautiful sanctuary of Community United Church of Christ in St. Germain, WI which was build by its members. It fit in wonderfully with the state forest which surrounded us. It became a holy place for me.

I resist now to talk about Notre Dame in light of Catholicism. It is a sanctuary of God no matter what boundaried categories we humans have tried to use to dissect the body of Christ. Whether it is rebuilt or greatly modified or simply left as it now is, it will continue to be a place of holy sacredness for all who seek to know God as they visit that site.

Leave a comment